Partners

continental

Continental AG

elektrobit

Elektrobit Automotive GmbH

fraunhofer

Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology SIT

hrm

RheinMain University of Applied Sciences

mtg

MTG AG

rub

Ruhr University Bochum

tud

Technical University of Darmstadt

continental

Continental AG

Continental develops pioneering technologies and services for the sustainable and connected mobility of people and their goods. Continental's Security and Privacy Competence Center (SCC) is involved in QuantumRISC. SCC develops concepts for new solutions in the area of cyber security for vehicles. This includes the analysis, evaluation and adaptation of various future technologies for vehicles in the field of cyber security. Thus, SCC has an excellent overview of the current cyber-security requirements and solutions in the automotive market. Plans are to integrate the results of the research project into the development of future products.

elektrobit

Elektrobit

Elektrobit is a provider of embedded and connected software solutions and services for the automotive industry as well as solutions in the area of automotive hardware security modules (HSM). Elektrobit also works in the area of hardware-supported protection of individual control units across the entire vehicle and the backend. In the PQC area for automotive applications, Elektrobit is already researching practical methods for a smooth transition from current methods to PQC. Elektrobit plans to incorporate the results of the research project into the development of products to replace existing processes in a timely manner.

fraunhofer

Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology SIT

Fraunhofer SIT is a research institution of the Fraunhofer Society in the field of IT security. The department Advanced Cryptographic Engineering, headed by Dr. Ruben Niederhagen, deals with the practical aspects of PQC used in embedded systems and conducts industrial projects on this topic with various automotive manufacturers. The group is working on secure hardware implementations of PQC primitives, including hardware accelerators for the RISC-V platform. In addition, the department researches the causes of side-channel vulnerabilities as well as methods and techniques for side-channel attacks and fault attacks on safety-critical hardware and software components of mobile and embedded devices.

hrm

RheinMain University of Applied Sciences

Experts from the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences are involved in QuantumRISC as well. With their research focus being on "Smart Systems for Humans and Technology", they are concerned with investigating, developing and implementing cryptographic algorithms for embedded systems. Several PhD student already work in the field of post-quantum cryptography in two other research projects. A practical and application-oriented approach is achieved in these projects by a close cooperation with the automotive industry.

mtg

MTG AG

MTG AG is a specialist for encryption technologies. MTG's IT security solutions secure critical infrastructures and the Internet of Things. For the QuantumRISC project, MTG uses its know-how and its previous research in this field. It will extend it to embedded systems, including hardware-related development. MTG plans to integrate the results from QuantumRISC into its PKI/KMS products MTG CARA and MTG KMS.

rub

Ruhr University Bochum

The Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security (HGI) is a scientific institution of the Ruhr University Bochum and one of the largest and most visible university research facilities in the field of IT security in Europe. The HGI Chair of Security Engineering is involved in QuantumRISC. The chair brings to the project expertise of more than ten years of research work in the field of applied post-quantum cryptography, which covers in particular the area of code-based and lattice-based cryptography.

tud

Technical University of Darmstadt

The Technical University of Darmstadt bundles its IT security activities in the CYSEC profile area. The working group of Dr. Juliane Krämer is involved in QuantumRISC by performing research in the fields of post-quantum cryptography and implementation security. The main research area of the group is lattice-based cryptography. The group is involved in the submission of a signature scheme to the NIST standardization process.

Partner

continental

Continental AG

elektrobit

Elektrobit Automotive GmbH

fraunhofer

Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie SIT

hrm

Hochschule RheinMain

mtg

MTG AG

rub

Ruhr-Universität Bochum

tud

Technische Universität Darmstadt

continental

Continental AG

Continental entwickelt wegweisende Technologien und Dienste für die nachhaltige und vernetzte Mobilität der Menschen und ihrer Güter. In QuantumRISC beteiligt sich das Security and Privacy Competence Center (SCC) von Continental. Das SCC entwickelt Konzepte für neue Lösungsansätze im Bereich Cybersicherheit für das Fahrzeug. Darunter fallen auch die Analyse, Evaluierung und Adaption von verschiedenen Zukunftstechnologien für Fahrzeuge im Bereich Cybersicherheit. Somit hat das SCC einen exzellenten Überblick über die aktuellen Anforderungen und Lösungen im Automobilmarkt im Bereich Cybersicherheit. Es wird geplant, die Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt in die Entwicklung von Produkten einfließen zu lassen.

elektrobit

Elektrobit

Elektrobit ist ein Anbieter von Embedded- und Connected-Software-Lösungen und Dienstleistungen für die Automobilindustrie sowie von Lösungen im Bereich Automotive Hardware Security Module (HSM). Elektrobit arbeitet auch im Bereich von der hardwareunterstützen Absicherung einzelner Steuergeräte über das Gesamtfahrzeug bis ins Backend. Im Bereich PQC für automotive Anwendungen forscht Elektrobit bereits an praxistauglichen Verfahren für einen möglichst reibungslosen Übergang der bisherigen Verfahren auf PQC. Elektrobit plant, die Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt zeitnah in die Entwicklung von Produkten zur Ablösung bisheriger Verfahren einfließen zu lassen.

fraunhofer

Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie SIT

Das Fraunhofer SIT ist eine Forschungseinrichtung der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft im Bereich IT-Sicherheit. Die Abteilung Advanced Cryptographic Engineering unter der Leitung von Dr. Ruben Niederhagen befasst sich mit praktischen Aspekten des Einsatzes von PQC in eingebetteten Systemen und betreut Industrieprojekte zu diesem Thema mit verschiedenen Automobil-Herstellern. Dabei arbeitet die Gruppe aktiv an sicheren Hardware-Implementierungen von PQC-Verfahren unter anderem als Hardware-Beschleuniger für die RISC-V Plattform. Darüber hinaus erforscht die Abteilung die Ursachen von Seitenkanalschwachstellen sowie Methoden und Techniken für Seitenkanalangriffe und fehlerprovozierende Angriffe auf sicherheitskritische Hard- und Softwarekomponenten mobiler und eingebetteter Geräte.

hrm

Hochschule RheinMain

Experten der Hochschule RheinMain aus dem Forschungsschwerpunkt „Smarte Systeme für Mensch und Technik“ sind an QuantumRISC beteiligt. Sie befassen sich mit der Untersuchung, Entwicklung und Implementierung von kryptografischen Algorithmen für eingebettete Systeme. Das Gebiet der Post-Quantum-Kryptografie wird derzeit schon im Rahmen von zwei weiteren Forschungsprojekten mit mehreren Doktoranten bearbeitet. Der praktische und anwendungsorientierte Bezug in diesen Projekten wird durch eine enge Kooperation mit der Automobilindustrie erreicht.

mtg

MTG AG

Die MTG AG ist ein Spezialist für Verschlüsselungstechnologien. Die IT-Security-Lösungen von MTG sichern kritische Infrastrukturen und das Internet der Dinge ab. MTG greift für QuantumRISC auf Know-How und Forschungs-Vorarbeiten in diesem Bereich zurück und erweitert dieses Wissen im Rahmen des Projekts auf eingebettete Systeme inklusive hardwarenaher Entwicklung. MTG plant die Ergebnisse aus QuantumRISC in ihre PKI/KMS-Produkte MTG CARA und MTG KMS zu integrieren.

rub

Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Das Horst Görtz Institut für IT-Sicherheit (HGI) ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Ruhr-Universität Bochum und gehört zu den größten und sichtbarsten universitären Forschungseinrichtungen im Themengebiet IT-Sicherheit in Europa. In QuantumRISC wird der HGI-Lehrstuhl für Security Engineering mitwirken. Der Lehrstuhl bringt dabei Expertise von mehr als zehn Jahren Forscherarbeit im Bereich der angewandten Post-Quantum-Kryptografie ins Projekt ein, die insbesondere den Bereich der codebasierten und gitterbasierten Kryptografie abdeckt.

tud

Technische Universität Darmstadt

Die Technische Universität Darmstadt bündelt ihre Aktivitäten im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit im Profilbereich CYSEC. Am Projekt QuantumRISC ist die Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Juliane Krämer beteiligt, die auf den Gebieten der Post-Quantum-Kryptografie und der Implementierungssicherheit forscht. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Gitter-Kryptografie. Sie ist an der Einreichung eines Signaturverfahrens an dem NIST-Standardisierungsprozesses beteiligt.